You are here: Home > Global

07/06/2019 09:46am

Piyush Goyal leading Indian Delegation for G20 Ministerial Meeting in Japan

image Piyush Goyal leading Indian Delegation for G20 Ministerial Meeting in Japan

New Delhi, June 7 (KNN) Piyush Goyal, Union Minister of Commerce and Industry, is leading the Indian delegation for the G20 Ministerial meeting on Trade and Digital Economy to be held on 8th to 9th June, 2019 in Tsukuba city, Japan. It will be the first time when more than 50 Trade and Digital Economy Ministers will get together to discuss how G20 economies can promote trade and investment and maximize benefits from the development of the digital economy and technologies to ensure sustainable growth of the global economy.

After resuming the charge, Commerce Minister will hold bilateral meetings on the sidelines of G20 in order to sensitize India’s core interests in trade and investment issues and build coalition with likeminded countries for defending the interests of developing countries. It is hoped that this meeting will play a positive role in fostering economic opportunity and addressing challenges in the global landscape. Trade and investment are the important factors of the unprecedented global economic growth and poverty reduction of recent time.

The Minister will discuss on issues like, developments in the global trade situation, WTO matters and digital trade. He will also hold dialogue with other participating Trade Ministers on current international trade and investments. The G20 Trade Ministers deliberations will form part of the G20Summit Leaders agenda in the formal discussions and will also be a part of the Summit Declaration.

The Trade and Digital Economy meeting is one of the 8 Ministerial meetings taking place in Japan alongside the 2019 G20 Summit. The other seven Ministerial meetings are Agriculture Ministers’, Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors’ meeting, Labour and Employment Ministers’ meeting, Tourism Ministers meeting, Ministerial meeting on Energy Transitions and Global Environment for Sustainable Growth, Health Ministers’ meeting and Foreign Ministers’ meeting

G20 is made up of 19 countries and the European Union(EU). Members of G20 group are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, The Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.


Related Articles


    Be first to give your comments.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *